Hi!  My name is Diana Gallardo, LSW (she / her / hers) and I am so glad to meet you!  I am a bilingual English and Spanish-speaking Licensed Social Worker (LSW) in the State of Illinois.  I earned my Bachelor of Arts degree (B.A.) in Social Work from Northeastern Illinois University in 2017 and went on to complete my Masters of Social Work degree (M.S.W.) with a concentration in Military Mental Health from Dominican University in 2020.

I have gained experience working with diverse populations ranging from adolescents to geriatrics and have served these populations through my work in behavioral health hospital settings, inpatient / outpatient treatment centers, DCFS transitional living placements, and skilled nursing facility settings.  I have always been especially passionate about working with minority communities and those who may feel marginalized or face discrimination.  I am a strong advocate for social justice and reform and naturally drawn to representing the needs of all immigrant and minority groups.  My areas of expertise include working with anxiety, depression, bipolar disorder, post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), obsessive-compulsive disorder (OCD), military and veterans issues, dementia and traumatic brain injury, substance use disorders, family problems, relationship issues, and working with troubled teens and behavior disorders in children.

I believe that my ability to help affect change rests on creating a safe, non-judgmental space where my clients can discuss their concerns, feel understood, build on existing strengths, and reach their goals to live a more fulfilling life.  To accomplish this, I draw on various strength-based approaches including Cognitive-Behavioral Therapy (CBT), Dialectical Behavioral Therapy (DBT), Motivational Interviewing, Play Therapy, and Mindfulness.  I provide teletherapy services for Home Psych Services, P.C. and Generations Behavioral Healthcare, P.C. using secure video teleconferencing for the comfort, convenience, added privacy, and safety of my clients.

In my free time, I enjoy reading or expressing my creativity through dance.  I am also enjoy spending time with my family and am the eldest of three siblings which has also helped shaped my leadership skills!